RESOLUTION NO. 2016-01

A RESOLUTION OF THE COWLITZ TRANSIT AUTHORITY TO APPROVE LOCAL MATCHING FUNDS FOR THE FY2016 FEDERAL TRANSIT ADMINISTRATION BUS AND BUS FACILITIES GRANT PROGRAM FOR THE DOWNTOWN TRANSIT CENTER EXPANSION AND TWO REPLACEMENT BIODIESEL COACHES.

WHEREAS, the City of Longview is the Designated Federal Recipient of public transit funds; and

WHEREAS, the City of Longview, on behalf of the Cowlitz Transit Authority, is applying for \$4,520,000 from the FY2016 Federal Transit Administration Bus and Bus Facilities Grant Program to purchase two (2) biodiesel buses and expansion of the Downtown Transit Center; and

WHEREAS, the award has an estimated local matching funds requirement of \$904,000; and

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement for Public Transportation Services states "[t]he City of Longview shall provide public transportation services within the area of the Cowlitz Transit Authority including, but without limitation, the providing of vehicles, vehicle maintenance, vehicle operation, public liability and property damage insurance, supervision, and all labor and services in connection therewith, all in accordance with said Comprehensive Transit Plan and in accordance with public transportation schedules as determined by the Cowlitz Transit Authority"; and

WHEREAS, the Interlocal Agreement for Public Transportation Services states in part "The Cowlitz Transit Authority shall pay to the City of Longview all costs and expenses incurred by it, in consideration for all of the services to be provided by the City of Longview pursuant to this agreement ..."

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Cowlitz Transit Authority that it authorizes expenditure of an estimated \$904,000 to match the FY2016 Federal Transit Administration Bus and Bus Facilities Grant, if awarded, to be used by the City of Longview to procure two (2) biodiesel buses, and expand the Downtown Transit Center located in Longview, Washington.

PASSED by the Cowlitz Transit Authority in regular session and approved this 11th day of May, 2016.

DON JENSEN, CHAIR Cowlitz Transit Authority

RICK ROBERSON Cowlitz Transit Authority DENNIS WEBER Cowlitz Transit Authority

LARRY ALEXANDER Cowlitz Transit Authority

MARY JANE MELINK Cowlitz Transit Authority Attest:

Tabitha Hayden, Clerk of the Board