RESOLUTION NO. 2017-01

A RESOLUTION OF THE COWLITZ TRANSIT AUTHORITY APPROVING AN INTERLOCAL AGREEMENT RELATING TO MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITIES FOR TRANSPORTATION PLANNING IN THE LONGVIEW-KELSO-RAINIER METROPOLITAN PLANNING AREA

WHEREAS, the City of Longview operates RiverCities Transit and is the primary public transit operator within the Longview-Kelso-Rainier Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA), and is a designated recipient of federal transit funding within the MPA; and

WHEREAS, the City of Longview and the Cowlitz Transit Authority jointly fund and establish the operating policies and procedures and planning for RiverCities Transit; and

WHEREAS, the Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Council of Governments (CWCOG) is the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) designated by the Governor of the State of Washington for the MPA, and is charged with the responsibility of carrying out transportation planning and programming processes that lead to the development and operation of an integrated, intermodal transportation system in accordance with RCW 36.64.080; and

WHEREAS, it is mandated and consistent with federal requirements to formalize the roles and responsibilities of the CWCOG, Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT), the City of Longview, and the Cowlitz Transit Authority in order to cooperatively carry out their respective metropolitan and statewide transportation planning and programming requirements to support regional and state transportation plan implementation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Cowlitz Transit Authority to enter into an interlocal agreement with the CWCOG, City of Longview, and WSDOT for the purposes of establishing mutual responsibilities in carrying out the Metropolitan Transportation Planning processes in the Longview-Kelso-Rainier Metropolitan Planning Area. The draft agreement is attached as Exhibit A and forms a part of this Resolution.

PASSED by the Cowlitz Transit Authority in regular session and approved this <u>14th</u> day of <u>June</u>, 2017.

	RICK ROBERSON	
DENNIS WEBER, CHAIR	Cowlitz Transit Authority	
Cowlitz Transit Authority		

LARRY ALEXANDER Cowlitz Transit Authority	DON JENSEN Cowlitz Transit Authority
	MARY JANE MELINK Cowlitz Transit Authority
ATTEST:	
Clerk of the Board	