



1525 Broadway Longview, WA 98632 www.ci.longview.wa.us

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-5689 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Agenda Item Status: Consent Calendar

File created: 11/28/2018 In control: City Council

On agenda: 12/6/2018 Final action:

Title: APPOINTMENTS TO VARIOUS BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

APPOINTMENTS TO VARIOUS BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

CITY ATTORNEY REVIEW: N/A

SUMMARY STATEMENT:

At the end of 2018, some terms on several City boards and commissions will expire or some members are resigning.

The following boards and commissions are appointed by the city manager and require council concurrence. City manager Kurt Sacha recommends the following appointments:

Appeal Board of Adjustment:

Daniel Peterson, reappointment to a 5-year term that will expire 12/31/2023.

Golf Advisory Committee:

- Kimberly Higgins, appointment as the Women's Club rep to 1-year term that will expire 12/31/2019.
- Kenneth Pence, reappointment as the Men's Club rep to 1-year term that will expire 12/31/2019.
- David Schloss, reappointment to a 3-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.

The following boards and commissions are appointed by the mayor and require council concurrence. Mayor Don Jensen recommends the following appointments:

Library Board:

• Ryan Searcy, appointment to an unfulfilled term that will expire 12/31/2019.

Salary Commission:

George Brajcich, reappointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.

A committee of three council members (Chet Makinster, Mike Wallin, and Don Jensen) reviewed applications and recommend the following appointments to be appointed by the city council:

Downtown Advisory Committee:

File #: 18-5689, Version: 1

- Jerry McGee, reappointment to a three-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Bill Hallanger, reappointment to a three-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Dawn Gregg, reappointment to a three-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Katie Bonus, reappointment to a three-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Karl Salzsieder, reappointment to a three-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.

Historic Preservation Commission:

- Nathanael Light, reappointment to a 3-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Nicholas (Nick) Higgins, reappointment to a 3-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.
- Gary Nordin, reappointment to a 3-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.

Lodging Tax Advisory Committee:

- Bill Marcum reappointed to a one-year term that will expire 12/31/2019.
- Gian Morelli reappointed to a one-year term that will expire 12/31/2019.

Parks & Recreation Board:

Jenny Oskey, reappointment to a 3-year term that will expire 12/31/2021.

Planning Commission:

- Ramona Leber, reappointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.
- Ray VanTongeren, reappointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.
- Craig Collins, reappointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.
- Christine Schott, reappointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.
- Bill Josh, appointment to a 4-year term that will expire 12/31/2022.

Sister City Commission:

- Eileen Bergeson, reappointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.
- Christopher Wills, appointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.
- Marissa Carpentier, appointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.
- Mikayla Springob, appointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.

As an FYI:

Additionally, the city manager has made the following appointments that **do not** require council concurrence:

Stormwater Advisory:

- Matt Swanson, reappointment to a 2-year term to expire on 12/31/2020.
- Carol Ruiz, reappointment to a 2-year term to expire on 12/31/2020.
- Dean Gehrman, reappointment to a 2-year term to expire on 12/31/2020.

Visual Arts Commission:

- Deborah Andersen, reappointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.
- Yvette Raynham, appointment to a 3-year term to expire on 12/31/2021.

Additionally, the mayor has made the following appointments that **do not** require council concurrence:

Civil Service Commission

• Steve Morrill, appointed to a 2-year term that will expire 12/31/2020.

Housing Opportunities of Southwest Washington

• Marchelle Knapp, reappointed to a 5-year term that will expire 12/31/2023.

File #: 18-5689, Version: 1

- David Spurgeon, appointed to a 5-year term that will expire 12/31/2023.
- Jenny Oskey, appointment to an unfulfilled term that will expire 12/31/2020.

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Approve above recommended appointments.

STAFF CONTACT:

Don Jensen, Council Appointments Committee Mike Wallin, Council Appointments Committee Chet Makinster, Council Appointments Committee Kurt Sacha, City Manager